Diploma Years Programme

Diploma Years Programme

Grade 11 - Grade 12

(CCIS/MHIS) offers high school students a structured scholastic curriculum from grade 9 to grade 12. As students move to grades 11 & 12, students can choose their “best fit” individual pathways to university from the wide range of courses available. Our world-renowned curriculum is taught by experienced and dedicated teachers and we offer:

  • International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP)
  • CCIS/MHIS High School Diploma (US).
  • Advanced Placement (AP) courses

The programmes on offer meet the college preparatory needs of our entire student body. This enables us to best prepare each graduate to succeed at the university of their choice. We understand our students as individuals and motivate them accordingly through well-resourced, professional guidance.

The IB Diploma

Life in the 21st century requires critical-thinking skills and a sense of international mindedness, something that International Baccalaureate® (IB) Diploma Programme students learn to know and understand. The IB Diploma Programme is designed as an academically- challenging and balanced programme of education, with coursework as well as final examinations that prepares students for success at university and life beyond. The programme is taught over two years and has gained recognition from the world’s leading universities.


IB Diploma Programme students study six courses – usually three at Higher Level (HL) and three at Standard Level (SL). Students must choose one subject from each of groups 1 to 5, thus ensuring breadth of experience in languages, social studies, the experimental sciences and mathematics. The sixth subject may be an arts subject chosen from group 6, or the student may choose another subject from groups 1 to 4. Depth is ensured by requiring 3 or 4 subjects at Higher Level.

In addition the programme has three Core requirements that are included to broaden the educational experience and challenge students to apply their knowledge and understanding:

students actively learn from the experience of doing real tasks beyond the classroom. Students can combine all three components or do activities related to each one of them separately, but activities must take place throughout the two year course.

  • The Extended Essay (EE): requires students to engage in independent research through an in-depth study of a topic of interest within a chosen subject and write an essay of 4,000 words.

Theory of Knowledge (TOK): This course cultivates the capacity of students to critically reflect upon the foundational presuppositions of their other subjects of study and thus, to think for themselves. The key question of the course is: “How do I know?” The course seeks to develop the character of each student as it is exemplified in the IB learner profile.

Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS):

Students can combine all three components or do activities related to each one of them separately, but activities must take place throughout the two year course.


Students complete assessment tasks in the school, which are either marked initially by teachers and then moderated by external examiners or sent directly
to external examiners. Students also take written examinations, which are marked by external IB examiners, in May of the second year of the IB Diploma.

Grades in each subject range from 1-7 and up to 3 points more can be earned for the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge.

The diploma is awarded to students who gain at
least 24 points, subject to certain minimum levels
of performance across the whole programme (for instance, 12 points in 3 Higher Level subjects) as well as satisfactory participation in the three core requirements.

The highest total that a Diploma Programme student can be awarded is 45 points.

University Recognition

The IB diploma is a passport to higher education and it is considered to be among the most challenging and demanding university preparation courses that students can take.

To study the full IB Diploma, students need to select

  • 1 subject at least from each of groups 1, 3, 4 and 5
  • Either another language from group 1 or a language from group 2
  • Either a Group 6 Subject or another subject from groups 1, 2, 3 or 4.
  • The ‘Core elements’ of Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay and Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) which are compulsory.

A combination of 4 HL subjects and 2 SL subjects or 3 Hl subjects and 3 SL subjects.

Each of the IB’s programmes is committed to the development of students according to the IB learner profile. The profile aims to develop learners who are:

  • Inquirers
  • Knowledgeable
  • Thinkers
  • Communicators
  • Principled
  • Open-minded
  • Caring
  • Risk-takers
  • Balanced
  • Reflective

A more detailed explanation of the learner profile, can be found here: Learner Profile


The DP curriculum

The Diploma Programme (DP) curriculum is made up of six subject groups and the DP core, comprising theory of knowledge (TOK), creativity, activity, service (CAS) and the extended essay.

Through the Diploma Programme (DP) core, students reflect on the nature of knowledge, complete independent research and undertake a project that often involves community service.

Read about the DP curriculum.

Copyright © 2023 - 2024 Carleton College International School
Scroll to Top